Day 9 -30 Day Genderqueer Challenge

30 days, 30 posts, and 30 opportunities to dig into who I am!  Every day I aim to answer these questions, in chronological order, as best I can.  The 30 Day Genderqueer Challenge is taken from the tumblr Genderqueer Identities.

9) What have you done or plan to do to socially transition? Pronouns, name, coming out, etc.

I am not sure if or when I would officially socially transition and introduce myself as genderfluid specifically. At this time, I don’t think that coming out would enhance my life in any way. I am comfortable with my varied gender presentation, but at this time I do not want to change my pronouns or my name with these transitions, so coming out as genderfluid is a bit of a mute point. If at some time I want to also use fluid pronouns or a more gender-neutral name, then I will cross that bridge when I get to it. I guess I am a little green (read naive), in this aspect, in that I don’t understand the benefit of proclaiming my gender when the label is really only functional to make other people understand a little bit better the way I approach my gender, not a way to define me as a person, which is what I think coming out at this time would do. Until I heard about the terms of genderqueer and genderfluid, I was fairly comfortable just being myself without a label, so until that changes, coming out is not something on my radar.

Leave a comment