Day 13 -30 Day Genderqueer Challenge

30 days, 30 posts, and 30 opportunities to dig into who I am!  Every day I aim to answer these questions, in chronological order, as best I can.  The 30 Day Genderqueer Challenge is taken from the tumblr Genderqueer Identities.

13) How has your family taken it or how might they take it?

My family took my sexuality in stride, so I do not think that they would take my gender presentation preference much differently, but I am not positive. As intelligent and understanding as they are, there are some things that you can’t reteach based on socialization at a young age. I think they might have more questions regarding this than they did about my sexuality because I have always been kind of a tomboy, so they wouldn’t understand the need for a separate label for something that they just see to be a part of me. Which sometimes make me question whether I should even be labeling myself in this way at all.

However, if my gender identity continues to change and I want to move more into changing pronouns and such, then I would definitely take comfort in the label and use it more often to describe me instead of keeping it to myself. Then it might help them to understand a little more of what I am going through instead of just varying my gender presentation on a regular basis, which I have been doing for a very long time in their eyes.

Leave a comment